Phear the Beard

A few young gentlemen purporting to be from Scarsdale High School have started calling me at my home number to inform me that they have formed a Beard club, which they said was one of the most popular on campus.  They said they had admired some of the beard pictures I had put on the web, and asked for a “shout out.”

Last week, after receiving a few e-mails I dismissed as junk mail without really reading, two of their “officers”; purported to be Brett Schneider, and Dave ?, called me several times on Thursday and Friday, and one time they called during their club meeting meeting on Friday afternoon (around noon Pacific [UTC -8]) just to leave me a “shout out” on my home answering machine.

Later, on Saturday Night, I received numerous “drunk-dialing” calls from them, with some of what they tried to say completely unintelligible, due to loud background noise.

For the Truly Curious, Here are the Beards we should all phear!!!


Below are a couple of my wicked beard pics that inspire awe.

The best (beast) of the Beard
Mouse over for Full Description

Looking Might Shaggy at Comdex in Vancouver BCContemplating Mother Earth at Umpqua Reststop I5
On a Canal Boat in Amsterdam on my HoneymoonOn the London Eye
Cannabis Cup 2001 Finale with Gazoo at Melkveg, AmsterdamLooking too Dour at Rosslyn Chapel near Edinburgh

Other great beards from my Pictures collection

Lance and Scotty in a Freemont Radio Shack during ISPCON 1998Knute, not ready for Flash
Gazoo at Hamm (Luxembourg) U.S. Miltary Cemetary with the Fu Man Chu StashGazoo (Fu Man Chu Stash), Cosmo (Beard - Partially Visible), and Chauncey (R.I.P.) with clean Van Dyke

And finally, for your enjoyment, a more modern
 professional look for me (St. Patrick’s Day 2005)

I’ll probably call the principal of their school on Monday to see if in fact, there is a beard club, and what it’s mission is. (I’m putting odds at about 60% *for*).  I won’t get anyone in trouble; no reason for that.  My friend Ben suggested some mischief we might perform, but they seemed like nice enough kids, even though I’m still feeling that their intentions, and motivation are a little bit ambiguous.  In anycase, this post is your shoutout guys.

Update:  I called SHS and was trasferred to Student Governance manager, Neil Ginsburg, who has yet to return my call.  I’ll try again tomorrow.  FYI, I support this type of student spiritedness, which should be encouraged while still young enough to have fun.

Cosmo (Jay)

12 thoughts on “Phear the Beard

  1. Hey it’s Dave from the beard club. You freakin rock man. My favorite shot is of you in that sweet beige shirt. Were going to the monster truck rally in a week. (AKA Saint Patty’s day) You will be in our hearts and in our minds.

  2. Yo, i go to scarsdale high school and i’m the only black kid in the beard club, they have like 40 members, believe it man! u inspire all of us to kill razors!

  3. so i see you have a wordpress also. i’m a student at shs and the beard club is a 100% authentic beard club supporting the growth and maturity of the male (and female) beard. Their goals are only to honor those who keep their beards and don’t give them to the evil sharp mach 3 razor. Once I have some kind of beard, I plan to join beard club meetings. the presidents of the club-brett/ben/marc all spend at least 3 hours on your website each day.

    PAYCE
    ridebox.sytes.net go a head and leave a comment on my nyc street art collective/database

  4. Hey man, I wasn’t just a member of the Utah Valley Technical College’s “Long Hair’s Club,” i was a member of the High Council circa 1987-89. Ahhh, using student money for trips to Banff and hotsprings.

    PS Post pics of the beard club ‘eh.

  5. it’s so true. when they first started we all took it as a joke…but sure enough it got approved as a club and they are the only club that has had more than 5 or 10 people are their meeting…they have about 30 or 40…and it’s intense. brett/ben/marc and the most dedicated beard club presidents i’ve ever met…so i havent met many but…the point is…they deserve respect because they mannaged to get so many people involved in something that most people would consider …stupid…

  6. Pingback: Rachel Corrie Anti-War « Clubside Breakfast Time Podcast

Leave a Reply

